Hello world!

When I found out I was pregnant in July 2o1o I was thrilled. Thrilled that my husband and I would soon be adding to our family and thrilled to know that I’d soon be a mom.

My pregnancy was pretty straight forward – I would even go as far as to say it was easy. My only battles were constant indigestion from the second trimester on and tremendous swelling on my feet/ankles/legs and hands in the last month and a half. (who needs to see their ankles anyways?)

Throughout my pregnancy I kept thinking I was carrying a little boy. I always found boy clothes more appealing and I could envision the day my husband would head off to a baseball game with his son. To be honest, I was hoping for a boy a little more than I was wishing for a girl.

On March 16, 2011 – more than two weeks before my due date – my water broke. Quite the surprise since I had previously had no contractions.

My husband made his way home from work and I finished packing the few necessities that were still missing. He got home, we packed the car and we were off – thank goodness for that!

As soon as I was strapped into the car my contractions started. And boy were they coming on strong! Those 35 minutes are ones my husband will never forget, especially when I told him I really felt like I had to start pushing. His obvious answer was “please don’t”. We’d only started driving the car 3 months prior and that mess was one we could avoid!

One of the last moments I remember before entering the hospital was getting to a stop sign just in front of the entrance and being delayed by an elderly woman crossing in front of the car. My contractions got the best of me and I rolled down my window only to yell “Hurry Up!” Not one of my finest moments.

When I arrived at triage I was rushed into a delivery room right away (I was clearly in active labour) and the attendant confirmed I was fully dilated. It was time to push. Really?

Within 1 hour Thomas was born making the whole ordeal last less than three.

He was beautiful. 7lbs 7 ounces , 21 inches long and the perfect little man I had been dreaming of.

Leave a Reply

