Cloud Nine

That’s right… nine hours of uninterrupted, blissful, relaxing sleep. That’s what I got the other night.

I woke when my husband’s alarm clock went off. A little confused (and worried), I tiptoed to Thomas’s room to ensure the little guy was still breathing. He obviously was or else I would not be writing this post!

I was thrilled that Thomas got so much sleep, but I knew not to expect the same thing the following nights when I put him down. The upside is he is no longer waking every two hours. The downside of this lengthy sleep is the uninterrupted nights means I get up on the wrong side of the bed. Apparently my body now prefers the broken, shortened sleep I’ve been getting and a nice full night of shut-eye isn’t appreciated. I was grumpy, tired and irritable. I ended up napping with Thomas in the morning – and that did me a heck of a lot of good.

As for the  little guy’s daytime schedule, he’s been taking regular naps throughout the morning and the afternoon. I can start to tell when he’s tired and needs to sleep. Luckily, he’s able to fall asleep on his own in his crib. I’m quite happy about this. The last thing I want is to fight to get him to nap.

Leave a Reply

