A tough day that ends at CHEO

Yesterday Thomas was the fussiest he’s ever been. I’m still not sure if it’s because he’s teething, but telling myself that makes me feel bad for the little guy instead of going to that dark mommy place where I ask myself why I wanted a baby in the first place.

It was a love/hate relationship all day long. He was all smiles one minute and howling the next. A little relief was made available to me when I plopped him in his bouncy chair and sat him in front of the TV to watch a little Baby Einstein.

I got 30 minutes of uninterrupted kitchen cleaning time

By the end of the day I’d had enough. My sister called to tell me she was heading to Walmart and I jumped at the occasion to go along. It’s quite sad when a trip to Walmart boosts my spirits and gives me a happy high. (Is this what my world has become?)

Because I was going to be out, I prepared formula for my little guy. When I came back from my $13 shopping spree – he was eagerly drinking his bottle in the comfort of his daddy’s arms. He was in bed by 9 and I breathed a sigh of relief for having gotten through another day.

At 10pm when we were heading to bed I heard Thomas cough, a bad cough, the same kind I heard on Canada Day when he was violently ill. A rush to his crib confirmed he had once again been sick. It was coming in and out of his nose, all over his pyjamas, drenched his hair, and my heart sank.

We rushed to run a bath and get him cleaned up a little. My poor little man was gagging and heaving throughout his bath. A quick call to the health line was made and we were told to head to the hospital. CHEO… here we come.

The drive to the hospital was brutal. Thomas was heaving and all I wanted to do was take him out of his car seat and hold him. He was so vulnerable and I couldn’t do anything about it. I never wanted to leave him alone ever again. I never wanted to let him out of my sight. I felt tremendous guilt for not having turned on the baby monitor that night while watching TV. We always hear him when he cries, but how long had it been since he’d been sick? I felt like a horrible mother.

It was a quiet night at the CHEO and we were seen within an hour. Thomas was force fed liquids and they checked his urine in case of a UTI – but all was clear. It seems as though it was the soy that just didn’t agree with him.

At 3am I was back in bed… just in time to get 3.5 hours of sleep before getting up since Thomas had allergy tests this morning.

The positive note to all of this is that his violent reactions are simply intolerances and not allergies, but it doesn’t take away the fact that for a brief moment I thought my child was going to die from choking on his own vomit.

A big thank you to the folks at the CHEO. Even though my emergency was nothing like what some other parents faced last night, they never made us feel as though we were wasting their time. They cared for my little man and that meant the world to us.

On a separate note… before heading to the CHEO we called the CSSS Gatineau (Hull Hospital Emergency) to see if we should bring him to them since we live in Quebec.  This is how the conversation went:

Me: I have a 3.5 month old who’s very sick and vomiting. Should I bring him to your hospital or to CHEO?
Attendant: Hold on…. (she checks with another colleague)… you should call the health line.
Me: I did. They told me he needs to go to the hospital.
Attendant: Oh… yeah…. I  don’t know. Probably CHEO.

Hopefully she wasn’t responsible for anyone’s life last night because I’m not sure the outcome would have been a positive one.

Leave a Reply

