The terrible… 4 months?

OK… I was already mentally preparing myself for the terrible twos… but the terrible four months? Why didn’t anyone warn me?

Since last week’s visit to CHEO, Thomas has been difficult to deal with. He doesn’t want to go to bed anymore and when he does he wakes up every two hours (sometimes 45 minutes) and wants to feed, play, cry, basically anything but sleep.

What happened to my little man who always slept five hours straight and sometimes as much as nine? I want him back!

I’m now reading up on healthy sleep habits but my first attempt to get him to nap this morning failed. So, I promise to never again judge a parent who says they can’t get their child off to bed.

The silver lining in all of this is that my husband is off for the entire month of August and if I can last that long with this deprivation of sleep, we will firmly start to implement a sleep/nap schedule at that time. Thomas will be a little over four months then and I think it’s as good a time as any. Plus, we have a wedding to attend on August 13th and that was going to be our first date night which means grandma needs to be able to put the little guy to sleep without any problem.

In addition to getting to bed, we now have to train him to drink a new formula which smells horrible and I’m sure tastes just as awful. Needless to say this next month will test every ounce of patience I have.

4 thoughts on “The terrible… 4 months?

  1. Is that what awaits me… I’m tad scared, lol. Seriously though, good luck and I’ll keep learning from your experiences as time goes by.

    KC

    • Oh Casey… you have no idea. It’s quite the reality check. Please don’t hesitate to call if you need anything. I have a mommy support group that is slowly growing and we’re always looking for new members! 🙂

  2. The Baby Whisperer Solves All Your Problems….we lived and breathed the 4hour E.A.S.Y. with Brady. My favourite book and best investment you’ll ever make.

    xxoo
    Shelley

Leave a Reply

