A little crying, a lot of sleep

For the past few weeks my husband and I have been contemplating when to put a stop to Thomas’s many nightly feeds. Since spending time at CHEO (two nights in a row), his schedule has been completely messed up and instead of sleeping for 4,5 even 6 hours straight he would only sleep for two and sometimes even just one. Needless to say I was a little tired of this.

We’ve been reading books, talking to friends, reviewing online articles and our plan was to implement a firm schedule in August when my husband takes time off. But last night after he’d been asleep for 30 minutes, my little monster woke up and started to fuss. Argh….

We decided then and there that it was time to be firm. Ten minutes of whining turned into 20 minutes of crying and then nothing. Not a peep until 5:15am! While you might be thinking “wow, mommy finally got some sleep”, think again. I was awake every two hours, my boobs were bursting with milk and I was getting hot flashes. I could hardly wait for him to wake up. I even contemplated getting up myself to pump milk.

After his early morning feed he went right back to bed for another 2 hours. Yay! And this morning, putting him down for a nap was almost painless. He fussed for about 10 minutes while I had my shower and by the time I was out he was fast asleep.

They say the second night babies tend to cry harder and longer, but our problem has been night awakenings, not the actual act of putting him to bed. So, I hope the sleep Gods will be on my team tonight and offer up a tearless, painless, restful night.

Leave a Reply

