A tooth, a crawl and a moustache?

November 1 was a day of milestones in our household. We caught a glimpse of my little guy’s very first tooth! It’s a very exciting day for us since we aren’t lying anymore when we say that tooth is coming (we’ve been saying it for the past 4 months). I also know the second one is not very far behind. The teething hasn’t changed affected his mood too much. What’s been a pain however is the horrible eye infection he’s developed. It’s icky, red and pussy. Yuck. Thankfully he’s now on antibiotics and it already looks better than it did last night.

Thomas is also at the very start of his crawling adventures moving a few feet at a time. Even with this little movement he’s everywhere! I was warned that this day would come. I guess it’s finally here.

And while Thomas is growing teeth and learning to crawl, his father is growing a mustache. It’s all part of Movember – when men across the country, and the world, grow their Burt Reynolds in an effort to raise awareness and money for prostate cancer. I think it’s a good idea… but I also think that just talking about it won’t change outcomes. I believe it would be much more effective if every man who took part in Movember also added a checkup as one of their goals.

Our family has been recently touched by prostate cancer through the diagnosis of an uncle, so the cause hits close to home and we’re not alone. According to Prostate Cancer Canada (the beneficiary of Movember), more than 25,000 Canadian men will be diagnosed with prostate cancer this year.  More than 4,000 will die from the disease.

I’m not sure how I’ll feel about the new look my husband will be sporting at the end of the month, but I do know that his efforts in fundraising for cancer (for the second time this year) will help. It is my hope that Thomas will never have to worry about cancer.

Leave a Reply

