When he grows up…

I often wonder what Thomas will grow up to be. Will he be a teacher or a lawyer, a doctor or researcher, will he study a trade and launch his very own company? Maybe he’ll pick up a set of drums and tour the world with a famous band. As I child I had my own dreams and while most of them came true I still remember how my fifth grade teacher killed my dreams of practicing law.

We were in a computer room and each student was asked to write about what they hope to be when they grow up. I had chosen to be a lowyer. Yes, a lowyer.He walked behind me, looked at my screen and said “maybe you should start by learning how to spell it.” That was the end of my law career.

When it comes to Thomas, I want to make sure he knows all about vast career options he is surrounded by. Although I don’t really want to think of him heading off to school yet – I can’t help but come to the realization that his daddy and I will play a crucial role when it comes to the path he chooses.

The next time I go to the bookstore, I think I’ll see if they have any ‘career’ books for kids. I’m sure there are dozens of books out there that talk about the various jobs he can choose.

We started an Education Saving Plan the other day, so I guess our first responsibility as parents is done. I doubt we’ll have saved up all the money he needs by the time he heads to post-secondary education, but it’s a start.

What I do know is that parents play a crucial role in the upbringing of their kids and the kind of person they turn out to be. After all, isn’t that what we’re here for?

Leave a Reply

