What’s for dinner?

It’s the question I hate and ironically, cooking is what I love. But being asked what’s for dinner? irritates me as much as nails on a chalkboard.

What's for dinner?

Last night after a day filled with outings (meeting new moms, strollercizing, and picking up a gate I bought off of www.kijiji.ca) I swung by my husbands work and we headed home. When we were about 10 minutes from our house he dared to utter those three words: what’s for dinner? He didn’t get the description of what would soon be the most delicious meal ever made. What he got was the stink eye. It’s not that I hate cooking, I actually love cooking. I think what annoys me about that question is it seems to leave the decision regarding what we’re going to eat up to me and I find myself making the same darn thing, night after night, or so it seems.

We’ve also recently committed to watching what we eat in the hope of shedding a few pounds, so my usual quick fixes need to be modified and I haven’t found my healthy eating groove yet.

I’d love to find  the bible of all mommy cookbooks which offers healthy options that can be made with the flick of a wand – or in my case just a few minutes since I have no magical skills. I guess slicing and dicing the night before would be an option, but I often find I lack motivation at the end of the day. I’m always up for tips on how to be speedy in the kitchen so please share if you have any. In the meantime, I’ll try to figure out what’s for dinner… tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

