The search for Mary Poppins

Isn’t it every mother’s dream? To find a caregiver so wonderful that you spend the day at work not worrying about whether or not your child is happy? Knowing that he is loved and surrounded by activities and events that will help him grow and develop into a wonderful young man? Finding your very own Mary Poppins?

Tomorrow we head to our first meet-and-greet at a local daycare. It’s a family run daycare that I came across on the Internet. The woman has two children and is opening her home to a few new friends. I’m anxious and excited all at the same time. What if I like her but not the play area? What if her children are just too rowdy? What if I leave with a million more questions than when we first set foot in the door? I guess the easy one would be if we didn’t get a good vibe from her.

A friend of mine is going through the same process and it’s been an emotional rollercoaster so I can only imagine how I’ll feel after this visit. I guess stepping foot in a daycare really drives home the reality that someone else will be caring for my child. My Thomas.

My mother was a childcare provider during the first 17 years of my life. I think she must have helped raise close to 35 kids in all… maybe more. She was amazing. Some of the kids who are now young adults and living in our town still stop by her current employment to say hi. That says a lot. I just hope I can find someone as wonderful as she was.

If you have any suggestions as to good questions to ask a caregiver, I’d love to hear them!

One thought on “The search for Mary Poppins

  1. Pingback: A New Year’s Intimate Song « Poems That Dance

Leave a Reply

