Not a standard night

After coming back from London last month and having Thomas adapt quite well to the change in time, I thought the switch to Standard Time

Time change at the end of Daylight Saving Time
Image via Wikipedia

would be a breeze. Boy was I wrong. We had a horrible night filled with waking, fussing and crying – all which made for two tired parents this morning.

Although Thomas had recently been sleeping very well (only waking around 5am-6am), I was weary of entering his room in the middle of the night. I worried that he’d think it’s ok to cry for us every time he opens his eyes and would soon forget how to fall asleep on his own.

One noticable difference these days is he is sitting in his crib when I go to get him. My thought, is when he fusses in the middle of the night and starts to cry, he forgets that the best way to fall back to sleep is to lie down. And even though I love that mid-night snuggle, I can’t help but wish it would go away permanently so that everyone could get a good night’s sleep on a regular basis. I say this now but I know I’ll miss it when it’s gone.

I also know that his teeth are bothering him, so I don’t feel as though I can be über rigid all the time by letting him cry it out. It’s a hard balance to find. Succumb to my child’s crying or force him to continue to sooth himself? As adults, we are forced to learn to deal with our problems on our own, but we all need a little snuggle once in a while don’t we?

Leave a Reply

