Hoping a little NO goes a long way

With Thomas now being an expert crawler, I find myself saying no several times a day:

  • When he reaches for the TV stand.
  • When he tries to put my laptop cable in his mouth.
  • When he tries to eat daddy’s shoe.
  • When he tries to crawl away with that cute little bum exposed for the world to see as I attempt to change his diaper.
I always thought I knew how to use the word no, but apparently there’s a dozen experts who are ready to educate me on how and when I should be using this word. If you don’t know how to say no to your child, just Google How to say no to a child.
My constant use of this word got me thinking back to when my mom chose not to utter that dreadful word and simply wished I would learn a lesson on my own… like the time I was 4 or 5 and she was making brownies. I kept hounding her to taste the cocoa (not knowing it was cocoa and thinking it was a fine delicious chocolate powder). I’m sure she said no at least once and then gave in to my demands. Ugh….. I hate cocoa powder. She loved my reaction and I’m sure was quite smug that her evil plan worked.
All I know is that for the next 18 years of his life (and probably even beyond then), I’ll be saying no to my son for one reason or another. I’ll just have to remember to throw in a few yeses along the way.
Leave a Reply

