I believe in Christmas

Christmas. It’s the one word that seems to trigger a lot of debating this time of year. With Canada being so culturally diverse, some of my closest friends don’t celebrate Christmas – they celebrate their own holiday and that’s just fine with me.

I however love Christmas. It’s a magical time of year for my family. While we have all come to realize that it’s a money-maker for businesses, Christmas is also one of the few times a year when we see family members that live far away. When we actually take the time to spend a few extra hours together as a family. When the everyday hustle and bustle slows down (a little) and we can focus a little more on life and what really matters.

So really, I don’t care that throughout the entire month of December I’ve been making my way to the malls, buying online gifts, and trying to figure out what toys would be great for my little guy. I know that come Christmas morning when we head downstairs in our pyjamas with Thomas’s Grammy and Grampy, that the insane long lineups at the mall and hours spent surfing the web will seem distant.

But back to the Christmas controversy…
Many believe we should simply wish each other ‘Happy Holidays’ and omit the dreaded C word. I love wishing people a Merry Christmas even if it’s not their chosen celebration. At the same time, I have no problem with someone wishing me a happy Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, or simply wishing me happy holidays. But I like wishing people a Merry Christmas! and even sometimes throwing in a Happy New Year! while I’m at it.

I think it will be important to educate Thomas about the meaning of Christmas and how different people celebrate this time of year. But in our house, we will always be merry at Christmas.

Leave a Reply

