The best conversation of the day

When you become a parent, you essentially open up your life to a variety of new conversation topics. It’s quite evident when you stick a bunch of mommies together and surround them with their kids that the conversation deviates from the every day “what great weather we’ve been having” to: “yeah, he poops once a day.” But the most interesting (but very brief) conversation I’ve ever happened today.

I was out with Thomas at a kids play centre called Tubes et Jujubes. It’s an indoor playground where kids roam wild and free. But my little guy isn’t quite at the age where I can abandon him amongst the padded walls and slides, so I found myself crawling around with him and counting to three before he zoomed down the metre-long slide.

And then it happened. As I was enjoying my one-on-one time with my little guy, another little boy (about 3 years of age) walked up to me, extended his hand and said “Do you want my booger?” to which I kindly replied “no thank you.” And that was it. No other words were exchanged. He hustled back to join his friends and wiped his hands on his pants.

Then I thought to myself….. please don’t let that be Thomas in a few years. I love him dearly and although getting those little green monsters out of his nose has become a regular quest of mine, I really don’t need him sharing his boogers with me, or anyone else.

A few minutes later I met this little guy’s mom. I told her about our exchange. She was mortified. I laughed.

Leave a Reply

