What were we thinking?

There comes a time in every parent’s life when he or she realizes their child is too old for the toy aisle. That day has come.

It was a beautiful day. Thomas, his daddy and I were shopping around for a present we would offer a three-year-old girl. Not a big deal to bring Thomas to the store right? Wrong. Dead wrong. Not only did he loose it, but everyone in the store knew it. What gave it away? The snot coming out of his nose (I didn’t have any tissues) and his face was looking bloodshot (not his finest look).

A fine parent moment indeed.

Of course there was another parent in this aisle who was reasoning with his daughter as to why he did not want to buy her any more toys. Humph… at least he could try to reason, but why the heck would he bring a child to this section if he wasn’t planning on getting anything for her?

Thomas was having none of it. He was trying to grasp everything in sight. Screaming “maman”! and obviously not understanding why he couldn’t have the toys on the shelf.

In the end, we left the store with a toy for my friend’s daughter and three new cars for Thomas. This was a battle I wasn’t going to win.. so I gave up.

What have we learned from this?

  1. We can no longer enter the toy section with Thomas.
  2. Even though my child was clearly having the worst tantrum, I have no shame admitting I  judged the other parent for trying to reason with their child.
  3. I have just rewarded my child’s bad behaviour with a gift and in doing so have turned into one of those parents.
  4. I take no shame in being one of those parents.

If you’re wondering, the little girl loved the present so much that she too lost it when her mom tried to take it out of her hands. It was still in the box.

One thought on “What were we thinking?

  1. Awww, we have all had those moments 🙂 Thankfully I haven’t had too many of them but my kids are old enough that I can “kind of” reason with them lol. It’ll get easier 🙂 Good for you for making a decision and not questioning yourself on how you handled it!

Leave a Reply

