5 weeks vacation. Are you kidding me?

Tonight Thomas, his dad and I all went to meet a potential new day care provider. We were eager to meet this woman. She had great credentials and offered a subsidized government regulated spot ($7/day fee). After 10 minutes I had decided this was not the best fit.

The woman is wonderful. I think she would be extremely caring and would do a wonderful job teaching Thomas all there is to know before he heads to school in a few years. But here’s when things went south:

  1. She was very reluctant to agree to a 5:15 pick up as opposed to a 5 p.m. pick up. Sometimes we just can’t make it for 5 and I’d rather be upfront about it.
  2. She takes 4-5 weeks vacation in the summer to head to Europe (where she’s from).

WHAT? 4-5 weeks? Are you crazy?

I don’t care if you give me 3 months notice. How the heck do you want me to work 4-5 weeks vacation in the summer while you’re away? That’s just nuts.

Tomorrow: 3 more home day cares to visit. I have a really good feeling about 2 of them. Both have already willingly agreed to extend their work day by 30 minutes in the event that we need the additional few minutes to get to their place.

I just hope their vacation time is “normal”.

One thought on “5 weeks vacation. Are you kidding me?

Leave a Reply

