James

When my husband and I made the decision to have one child, we essentially made the decision to have two. My hubby grew up as an only child and although he was quite comfortable as such when he was younger he often wonders how different his life would be if he had a sibling.

On December 1, 2013 Thomas welcomed his little brother James. The birth was a quick one – one hour after the doctor broke my water (at 9:32pm) he was born weighing in a 7 pounds 8 ounces. He had been in my belly for 37 weeks and 5 days – one day longer than Thomas and weighed one ounce more. He had a full head of dark hair and needed to feed almost instantly. My stay at the hospital was a good one – although I sent daddy home for most of the time since we had a little Thomas to take care of.

December 2

James – December 2, 2013

March 16

Thomas – March 16, 2011

 

Other than a few similarities, James has been quite  different child than Thomas. For instance, he needs to be constantly in our arms. When he’s not he lasts about 5 minutes in the new position (chair, floor, playpen) and then starts to fuss. This has made restarting my blog almost impossible – that is… until I started babywearing (more on this a little further).

A positive difference is that he’s able to fall asleep on his own after feeds throughout the night. This has made the burden of getting up every 1.5 hours a little less painful. Yup – every 1.5 hours. After exactly 6 weeks I’m starting to get worn down quite significantly.

Since the moment he saw his little brother, Thomas has been in love. He is fascinated by the tiny little ears, nose and toes. It makes things much easier for everything to have such an accepting big brother. I just hope this lasts forever. 

Because I didn’t know any different, I always thought Thomas was the cutest baby that was ever born. Now that James is in our lives, I find myself realizing that it’s possible to have a tie for first place. Lucky he’s cute because come 3am it will be his only defence.

James

3 thoughts on “James

  1. They are adorable and look so alike, i mean I know there brothers and all haha. I’m having my first one but I already know i want to have a little brother or sister for George.

      • I’m sure you don’t get much time for your self but I guess that’s what being a mum is all about hehe. I bet you can’t and it will be 🙂

Leave a Reply

